Let’s crowdsource: Women’s History Month, ages 5-12

2 Mar
Whenever I talk about why I love librarians and why I’m so excited to be a librarian, I always gush about professional ethic of helping one another to help make the profession better and to better meet the needs of our communities.  It’s true!  I see little to no actual backstabbing and under-the-bus-throwing among my people.  I see so much helping, sharing, and supporting!  That’s my rainbows-and-lollipops library thought for today.

The idea:

That being said, I thought it would be fun to try some crowdsourcing here at Brooklyn Biblio.  Since my readership is still small, please help by passing this on through your own blogs and twitter accounts and Facebook and let’s see how many titles and great ideas we can gather here!  I will then compile the best ideas submitted along with anything I come across in my own research and follow up with a nicely organized, editorialized post that could be reposted and referred to in the future as a resource for school and public librarians going forward, with plenty of thanks and hat tips to individual contributors.

This is experimental, but if this works, maybe there can be monthly or quarterly crowdsourcing features here on Brooklyn Biblio!

Women at work on bomber, Douglas Aircraft Comp...

Women at work on bomber, Douglas Aircraft Company, Long Beach, Calif. (LOC) (Photo credit: The Library of Congress)

The ask:

March is Women’s History Month!  I’m working on putting together a K-5 book display and read-aloud for Women’s History Month at the school library where I’m currently a practicum student.  While I’m researching this, I’d love to know what some of your favorite children’s titles, discussion ideas, and online resources are to use with elementary and middle school students or to use in planning learning activities for students during Women’s History month!

 

I look forward to seeing all the ideas and suggestions from librarians all over the country (or the WORLD?) and I can’t wait to put it all together.  Thanks for reading and sharing!

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 Responses to “Let’s crowdsource: Women’s History Month, ages 5-12”

  1. diggingher March 3, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    Check out my challenge for the month.http://wp.me/p1PaX2-id

  2. joy March 9, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    Hi Mary –
    You have probably finished planning already! I just remembered this resource: http://kidlitwhm.blogspot.com/? It is updated annually.

    Hope all is well!

    Joy

    • bkbiblio March 14, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

      Joy, thanks, this is great! I met an iSchool friend of yours (Alice) at PLA today who wants me to tell you hello!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Celebrating Women « The Authentic Me - March 3, 2012

    […] Let’s crowdsource: Women’s History Month, ages 5-12 (bkbiblio.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

