Short Review: We Are Extremely Very Good Recyclers

17 Apr

Charlie and Lola: We Are Extremely Very Good RecyclersCharlie and Lola: We Are Extremely Very Good Recyclers by Lauren Child, Bridget Hurst

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was glad to find this after struggling to find a good read-aloud for Kindergartners leading up to Earth Day. Charlie and Lola are adorable and lovable characters, and in this story kids are introduced to recycling and celebrate as Lola and her classmates achieve an important goal. The illustration style combines drawings and collage in a way that allows opportunities to look for interesting details with young readers.

View all my reviews

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Responses to “Short Review: We Are Extremely Very Good Recyclers”

  1. bigcitybitch April 29, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    Mary, I LOVE that you post such short reviews! I’ve found it daunting to think about reviewing YA books on my blog, but you’ve inspired me that it’s OK to just put a few thoughts out there. Thanks!

    • bkbiblio April 29, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      Thanks! My approach to reviews is to keep the audience in mind, and most likely blog readers wouldn’t want to read a five-paragraph review but would like a quick hit to get the idea of a book and why it is valuable to use with students. It’s also a way for me to practice review writing that I actually have time for.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

